Translation work for AI
AI Training Jobs for Translators and Linguists
Measured from 38 distinct advertised rates, across 6 platforms. 28 of the 69 open roles here state no hourly rate; 3 advertise only a maximum ("up to $X/hr"), which is excluded.
AI labs pay translators, interpreters and linguists by the hour to translate and post-edit training data, rate machine translation and judge how well a model handles their languages. 69 roles for translators and linguists are open right now on 10 platforms, including Sigma AI, Welo Data and Braintrust. Every role is checked against its platform's job board daily.
Live roles for translators and linguists
Updated 12 hrs agoShowing the 1 roles posted for Egypt. See every role
Some links on AITraining.jobs are referral links. If you sign up through one, AITraining.jobs may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes what a platform pays you.
Translators and post-editors
1 openTranslate and post-edit for AI training data, in your language pair: from English into your native language, or between two non-English languages.
Before you apply
This is training work for AI models: what you translate becomes training data, usually with no credit to you. Read the project's terms on rights before you start, and never bring a client's confidential documents into a task. A legitimate platform never charges you to apply or to take a test.
Pay by specialty
Each specialty's typical pay is measured over its own open roles the way every band on this site is (the 25th percentile of what roles pay (the middle of each advertised range) to the 90th-percentile advertised ceiling), and shown only where at least three distinct rates are posted.
| Specialty | Open roles | Typical pay | Highest rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interpreters | 2 | Too few rates | $80/hr |
| Localization specialists | 6 | $30–$45/hr | $50/hr |
| Translation quality raters and reviewers | 26 | $4–$30/hr | $55/hr |
| Translators and post-editors | 22 | $35–$65/hr | $65/hr |
| Linguists | 13 | Too few rates | $80/hr |
What the roles ask for
Read from the requirements of 20 of the 69 open roles for translators and linguists: the lines each role's pop-up lists from its posting. A role counts once, at the lowest degree it accepts.
- Name years of experience11
- Ask where you live or may work3
- Ask for a certification1
- Name a translator or interpreter certification1
The roles that name experience ask for a median of 3 years.
What platforms pay to find you
AfterQuery post a flat referral bonus on 3 of the 69 open roles for translators and linguists: what the platform pays whoever refers the person it accepts, a measure of how hard these people are to find. The platform pays it, and it never comes out of your pay.
| Role | Platform | Referral bonus |
|---|---|---|
| Linguistics Expert | AfterQuery | $270 |
| Court Interpreter Expert | AfterQuery | $220 |
| Medical Interpreter Expert | AfterQuery | $220 |
Who hires translators and linguists for AI work
| Platform | Open roles | Pay stated |
|---|---|---|
| 23 | Not stated | |
| 17 | $3.50–$28.36/hr | |
| 9 | $15–$55/hr | |
| 4 | $20–$40/hr | |
| 4 | $6–$65/hr | |
| 4 | Not stated | |
| 3 | $75–$80/hr | |
| 3 | up to $80/hr | |
| 1 | Not stated | |
| 1 | $50/hr |
How each platform checks you
The platforms hiring translators and linguists now, in the words of each one's onboarding guide, with the source of every line. The full steps are on each platform's page.
- Assessment
- Language tests emailed after you apply. How to apply
- Interview
- None published
- Credentials
- Documents that prove your identity and credentials. Source
- Assessment
- Timed Welo Works assessments, then a client exam (per role). How to apply
- Interview
- None published
- Assessment
- Braintrust screening interview (AIR / AI skills interview). How to apply
- Interview
- AI interview (recorded, scored by AI)
- Identity check
- Government-issued photo ID and ability to take a selfie for Identity Verification (verification is run through Persona; images are not stored or displayed on Braintrust). Source
- Assessment
- Role assessments and the Zara AI interview. How to apply
- Interview
- AI interview (recorded, scored by AI)
- Identity check
- Once you are matched to a project: a driver's license, state ID, work permit or permanent residence card from an accepted country, photographed live through Persona, plus a recent selfie. Source
- Assessment
- Meridial Assessment (role-specific logic/reasoning evaluation). How to apply
- Interview
- Interview
- Assessment
- AfterQuery pool skills assessment (plus an interview step). How to apply
- Interview
- Video interview
- Identity check
- For verification and payouts: a government-issued photo ID, a device with a camera for a selfie, a phone that can receive a text code, a bank account in your own legal name in the same country you select in Stripe, and your SSN if you are in the US. Source
- Credentials
- AfterQuery says it welcomes 'experts with advanced degrees, significant industry experience, or demonstrated expertise in their field,' and that every expert goes through a verification process that includes credential checks and expertise validation. Source
- Assessment
- Project assessment (per project, after an invitation). How to apply
- Interview
- None published
- Identity check
- A government photo ID (driver's license, state ID, passport or green card) and a phone or tablet with a camera for the Persona ID and selfie check. Source
- Assessment
- Project qualification exam (per-project, e.g. Project Shasta, Project Wells). How to apply
- Interview
- None published
- Assessment
- Per-project eligibility screening, then a quality check on every submission. How to apply
- Interview
- None published
- Credentials
- Meet each project's own criteria, usually residence in a named country and a language level; some ask for more, such as a degree in literature or creative writing, or proven writing experience, for a short-story project. Source
Where these roles are posted
Roles a platform posts for one country, and roles whose title names a language. Each place opens its own page; each count opens these roles.
Native in a language companies are short of?
One profile for every AI training platform. Companies ask us for people with a specific language, country or credential: add yours once, and when a role fits, we introduce you, only with your yes. Free.
Get new multilingual and translation roles by email
We'll email you the newest paid multilingual and translation roles across every platform we track, with real hourly pay, so you don't have to keep checking. Free, and unsubscribe anytime.
We email new roles, not spam. One click to unsubscribe.
Frequently asked questions
How much do AI training jobs for translators and linguists pay?
Across the 38 distinct hourly rates posted for roles for translators and linguists right now, typical pay runs from $11 to $65 an hour, with a median of $25. The highest posted rate is $80 an hour, at Handshake AI. 28 of the 69 open roles for translators and linguists state no hourly rate, so check each listing.
Do I need a translation degree or certification?
It depends on the role. Many ask for native fluency plus translation, localization or post-editing experience; some application forms ask for a degree in translation, linguistics or a related field and whether you can show it if asked; interpreter roles ask for a certification. Each listing states what it requires. Of the 20 open roles for translators and linguists whose requirements we read, 4 a master's, 8 a bachelor's or a degree and 8 name no degree.
What does a translator or linguist do in AI training?
You translate or post-edit text for AI training data, rate machine translations against a guideline, review a model's output in your language for meaning and tone, and on linguistics projects answer research-level questions. It is remote, hourly or per-task contract work.
How do platforms check translators and linguists?
Most platforms start with an assessment in your field before any paid work, and each listing says what it asks for. Of the platforms hiring translators and linguists now, Braintrust and Alignerr run an AI interview (a recorded interview scored by AI) for many roles. Braintrust, Alignerr, AfterQuery and Handshake AI check a government photo ID, usually with a selfie, before you are paid. Sigma AI, AfterQuery and TransPerfect DataForce say they check credentials such as degrees. The section on how each platform checks you quotes each guide with its source.
Are these jobs legitimate?
They are posted by established AI data platforms (Sigma AI, Welo Data, Braintrust and Alignerr among them), and each platform's page here covers whether it is legit, how it vets people and how it pays. A legitimate platform never charges you to apply or to get work.
More work by profession
AI training jobs for teachers
School teachers, professors and education experts.
AI training jobs for writers
Journalists, editors, creative, technical and content writers.
AI training jobs for humanities experts
Historians, philosophers, political scientists and sociologists.
AI training jobs for artists and designers
Video editors, photographers, designers and illustrators.
AI training jobs by profession
Every profession with open roles, with live counts and pay.
AI training jobs by language
Every language with open work, with live pay.
Multilingual and localization
Every language role, with live pay by platform.